Student Union serves up fun at Welcome Back Courtyard cookout

BY BRANDON HOPPER brandon.hopper935@csuci.edu The atmosphere was welcoming and fun as The Student Union hosted the courtyard cookout on Wednesday, August 29 in the Student Union courtyard to kick off the...

Get involved at the Clubs and Organization Fair

By Branden Hopper branden.hopper935@csuci.edu Student organizations and involvement will be hosting their annual clubs and organizations fair in the central mall on Sept. 5 and 6 from 11:30am-2:30pm. The fair, formally...

CI introduces CISync platform with new features

By Jazzminn Morecraft jazzminn.morecraft978@csuci.edu The online community for information about clubs and organizations, known as CISync, has switched to a new platform and as a result many new features are available...
Students attend the fall 2017 Clubs and Orgs fair in the John Spoor Broome Library Plaza. The Clubs and Orgs fair is held every semester as a way for students to get involved on campus. Photo credit to CI Communication and Marketing.

Current Sophomores share what they wish they had known as freshmen from Orientation 2018

By Catherine Ninteman catherine.ninteman148@myci.csuci.edu Many freshmen come to Channel Islands with big dreams and no experience of college life (save for what is seen in movies and second-hand information from others),...
The entrance to Town Center from the main campus. To the left sits Pizza 3.14 and the Cove Bookstore. Photo credit to CSUCI Admissions.

Find food on campus to fit your budget from Orientation 2018

By Julia Cheng julia.cheng658@csuci.edu Eating on campus is inevitable, especially when school and/or work gets in the way of planning your meals. Thankfully, there are options at CI for everyone to...
CI Women's Soccer Club play a competitive game. Soccer is a team sport offered at CI as an intramural and club sport. Photo credit to CI Communication and Marketing.

Get involved on campus through clubs and organizations from Orientation 2018

By Jorge Garcia jorge.garcia234@myci.csuci.edu The CI community includes students with a great diversity of culture, intellectuality and physical ability. Therefore, the University offers the opportunity for students to put these virtues...
A comic illustrating a professor telling her students to read the syllabus. In their advice to freshmen, seniors said to read the syllabus. Photo credit to JadrianW.

Graduating students leave behind words of wisdom from Orientation 2018

By Ivey Mellem and Travis Hunt ivey.mellem194@csuci.edu and travis.hunt875@csuci.edu Your first year of college can be difficult, especially if you don’t know what to expect. Whether you’re a freshman or a...
A student does homework on her laptop in her dorm room. CI offers a range of dorms and housing to students living on campus. Photo credit to CI Communication and Marketing.

Beginner’s guide to living in the dorms from Orientation 2018

By Alex Guerra alex.guerra700@myci.csuci.edu Let’s face it, the high school life had one perk: you got your own place. A house to come back to, a room with a bed, TV...
A VCTC bus at CI's bus station. Students can utilize the many forms of local public transportation to travel around the county. Photo credit to ci_police Instagram.

Surviving college without a car from Orientation 2018

By Yolanda Barragan yolanda.barragan944@myci.csuci.edu There are a variety of resources students may use and pursue in an effort to get around CI and the rest of the city without a having...
A protestor holding a sign that says "Don't Raise Tuition." Photo credit to Neon Tommy.

No tuition increase could lead to negative consequences from Orientation 2018

By Mark Westphal mark.westphal708@myci.csuci.edu On April 20, 2018, California State University (CSU) Chancellor Timothy P. White released a statement to the public saying that the CSU system will not increase tuition...

Latest article

Student attacked on CI campus

By: Branden Hopper and Andrew Doran A student was reportedly attacked on campus this morning by another student who brandished a hand gun. The altercation took...

Wool gives fresh twist on post-apocalyptic novel

Wool by Hugh Howey By Alex Guerra It’s a world enclosed by metal walls and damp ceilings, a world where each man and woman are assigned...
The CI View newspaper logo

Corrections

The CI View strives to be as transparent as possible, and welcomes any complaints about errors in the newspaper that require correction. Each month...
css.php