A photo of the Dolphin Discount Program (DDP) board in the Student Union. The DDP provides CI students with various discounts from local businesses. Photo credit to Ivey Mellem.

Students save money with Dolphin Discount Program from Orientation 2018

Zachary Boetto zachary.boetto456@myci.csuci.edu College is all about making the most of your money. The Dolphin Discount Program partners efforts between local businesses and CI that allows students, faculty, staff and members of...
A picture of the word "Loan" and a piggy bank on a chalkboard. Photo credit to GotCredit.

Tips on paying for college from Orientation 2018

By Travis Hunt travis.hunt875@csuci.edu Higher education can be outrageously expensive. Financing the college journey can be tricky, but successfully managing your debt properly at the beginning of the venture can ease...
Three students sit around a table and enjoy a meal while they converse with one another. Photo credit to CI Communication and Marketing.

Make friends on and off campus from Orientation 2018

By Kayla Munoz kayla.munoz659@myci.csuci.edu As many know, making friends can sometimes be hard but in the end, it can be worth it. Remember, you can always be yourself as you should...
A Rape Aggression Defense (R.A.D.) instructor prepares to run an attack simulation with a student during a R.A.D. class. R.A.D. is designed to teach self-defense and preventative measures against sexual assaults and other attacks.

Learn self-defense with R.A.D. from Orientation 2018

By Ivey Mellem ivey.mellem194@csuci.edu Have you ever wanted to learn self-defense, but never had the time or never knew where to start? Well, look no further than CI’s Rape Aggression Defense...
Students table for the Channel Islands Boating Center at an event. The Boating Center is free for all students. Photo credit to csuci_rec Instagram.

Make use of the many campus resources from Orientation 2018

By Julia Cheng julia.cheng658@csuci.edu CI offers a vast range of resources covering a large amount of support for the student population. Here are some of the services that students have access...
The class photo from the fall 2017 Active Shooter training hosted by CI's Police Department and Student Government. Active Shooter training is a free class offered to CI students, staff and faculty every semester. Photo credit to ci_police Instagram.

CI Police prepare students with active shooter training from Orientation 2018

By Jazzminn Morecraft jazzminn.morecraft978@csuci.edu The FBI defines an active shooter as “an individual actively engaged in killing or attempting to kill people in a confined and populated area.” However, according to...
An old-fashioned watch. Photo credit to bitslammer.

Manage your time with these five tips from Orientation 2018

By Paige Parker paige.parker505@myci.csuci.edu Whether you are just entering college, finishing college or are somewhere in between, time management matters. It is an important part of university life to manage your...
Students spend time together in one of the dorms. CI offers a range of dorms and housing to students living on campus. Photo credit to CI Communication and Marketing.

The dirty truth about living with other people from Orientation 2018

Branden Hopper branden.hopper935@myci.csuci.edu It’s dinner time and you’ve had a long day of classes. You’re tired and all you want to do is make it home in time to indulge your...
The cover of Living Colour's new album, Shade. Photo credit to http://willnotfade.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/09/Living-Colour-Shade.jpg.

“Shade” Living Colour’s First Album in Eight Years from September 26, 2017

By Mark Westphal mark.westphal708@myci.csuci.edu For those unfamiliar, Living Colour is a New York funk metal band who rose to fame in 1988 with “Cult of Personality,” establishing them as a band...
Photo credit to CI Communication and Marketing.

CI Defends DACA from September 26, 2017

By Amelia Ludwig and David Medina amelia.ludwig810@myci.csuci.edu david.medina994@myci.csuci.edu One of the qualities CI is proudest of is our diverse community. Under our President, Donald Trump, that diversity is being threatened all over...

Latest article

Student attacked on CI campus

By: Branden Hopper and Andrew Doran A student was reportedly attacked on campus this morning by another student who brandished a hand gun. The altercation took...

Wool gives fresh twist on post-apocalyptic novel

Wool by Hugh Howey By Alex Guerra It’s a world enclosed by metal walls and damp ceilings, a world where each man and woman are assigned...
The CI View newspaper logo

Corrections

The CI View strives to be as transparent as possible, and welcomes any complaints about errors in the newspaper that require correction. Each month...
css.php