A comic illustrating a professor telling her students to read the syllabus. In their advice to freshmen, seniors said to read the syllabus. Photo credit to JadrianW.

Graduating students leave behind words of wisdom from Orientation 2018

By Ivey Mellem and Travis Hunt ivey.mellem194@csuci.edu and travis.hunt875@csuci.edu Your first year of college can be difficult, especially if you don’t know what to expect. Whether...
The entrance to Town Center from the main campus. To the left sits Pizza 3.14 and the Cove Bookstore. Photo credit to CSUCI Admissions.

Find food on campus to fit your budget from Orientation 2018

By Julia Cheng julia.cheng658@csuci.edu Eating on campus is inevitable, especially when school and/or work gets in the way of planning your meals. Thankfully, there are options...
Students attend the fall 2017 Clubs and Orgs fair in the John Spoor Broome Library Plaza. The Clubs and Orgs fair is held every semester as a way for students to get involved on campus. Photo credit to CI Communication and Marketing.

Current Sophomores share what they wish they had known as freshmen from Orientation 2018

By Catherine Ninteman catherine.ninteman148@myci.csuci.edu Many freshmen come to Channel Islands with big dreams and no experience of college life (save for what is seen in movies...
A protestor holding a sign that says "Don't Raise Tuition." Photo credit to Neon Tommy.

No tuition increase could lead to negative consequences from Orientation 2018

By Mark Westphal mark.westphal708@myci.csuci.edu On April 20, 2018, California State University (CSU) Chancellor Timothy P. White released a statement to the public saying that the CSU...
A picture of the word "Loan" and a piggy bank on a chalkboard. Photo credit to GotCredit.

Tips on paying for college from Orientation 2018

By Travis Hunt travis.hunt875@csuci.edu Higher education can be outrageously expensive. Financing the college journey can be tricky, but successfully managing your debt properly at the beginning...
A student does homework on her laptop in her dorm room. CI offers a range of dorms and housing to students living on campus. Photo credit to CI Communication and Marketing.

Beginner’s guide to living in the dorms from Orientation 2018

By Alex Guerra alex.guerra700@myci.csuci.edu Let’s face it, the high school life had one perk: you got your own place. A house to come back to, a...
A photo of the Dolphin Discount Program (DDP) board in the Student Union. The DDP provides CI students with various discounts from local businesses. Photo credit to Ivey Mellem.

Students save money with Dolphin Discount Program from Orientation 2018

Zachary Boetto zachary.boetto456@myci.csuci.edu College is all about making the most of your money. The Dolphin Discount Program partners efforts between local businesses and CI that allows students,...
Three students sit around a table and enjoy a meal while they converse with one another. Photo credit to CI Communication and Marketing.

Make friends on and off campus from Orientation 2018

By Kayla Munoz kayla.munoz659@myci.csuci.edu As many know, making friends can sometimes be hard but in the end, it can be worth it. Remember, you can always...
Photo credit to CI Communication and Marketing.

CI Defends DACA from September 26, 2017

By Amelia Ludwig and David Medina amelia.ludwig810@myci.csuci.edu david.medina994@myci.csuci.edu One of the qualities CI is proudest of is our diverse community. Under our President, Donald Trump, that diversity...
Students table for the Channel Islands Boating Center at an event. The Boating Center is free for all students. Photo credit to csuci_rec Instagram.

Make use of the many campus resources from Orientation 2018

By Julia Cheng julia.cheng658@csuci.edu CI offers a vast range of resources covering a large amount of support for the student population. Here are some of the...
css.php