The class photo from the fall 2017 Active Shooter training hosted by CI's Police Department and Student Government. Active Shooter training is a free class offered to CI students, staff and faculty every semester. Photo credit to ci_police Instagram.

CI Police prepare students with active shooter training from Orientation 2018

By Jazzminn Morecraft jazzminn.morecraft978@csuci.edu The FBI defines an active shooter as “an individual actively engaged in killing or attempting to kill people in a confined and...
Students spend time together in one of the dorms. CI offers a range of dorms and housing to students living on campus. Photo credit to CI Communication and Marketing.

The dirty truth about living with other people from Orientation 2018

Branden Hopper branden.hopper935@myci.csuci.edu It’s dinner time and you’ve had a long day of classes. You’re tired and all you want to do is make it home...
The entrance to Town Center from the main campus. To the left sits Pizza 3.14 and the Cove Bookstore. Photo credit to CSUCI Admissions.

Find food on campus to fit your budget from Orientation 2018

By Julia Cheng julia.cheng658@csuci.edu Eating on campus is inevitable, especially when school and/or work gets in the way of planning your meals. Thankfully, there are options...
Photo credit to CI Communication and Marketing.

CI Defends DACA from September 26, 2017

By Amelia Ludwig and David Medina amelia.ludwig810@myci.csuci.edu david.medina994@myci.csuci.edu One of the qualities CI is proudest of is our diverse community. Under our President, Donald Trump, that diversity...
Three students sit around a table and enjoy a meal while they converse with one another. Photo credit to CI Communication and Marketing.

Make friends on and off campus from Orientation 2018

By Kayla Munoz kayla.munoz659@myci.csuci.edu As many know, making friends can sometimes be hard but in the end, it can be worth it. Remember, you can always...
A VCTC bus at CI's bus station. Students can utilize the many forms of local public transportation to travel around the county. Photo credit to ci_police Instagram.

Surviving college without a car from Orientation 2018

By Yolanda Barragan yolanda.barragan944@myci.csuci.edu There are a variety of resources students may use and pursue in an effort to get around CI and the rest of...
Students table for the Channel Islands Boating Center at an event. The Boating Center is free for all students. Photo credit to csuci_rec Instagram.

Make use of the many campus resources from Orientation 2018

By Julia Cheng julia.cheng658@csuci.edu CI offers a vast range of resources covering a large amount of support for the student population. Here are some of the...
CI Women's Soccer Club play a competitive game. Soccer is a team sport offered at CI as an intramural and club sport. Photo credit to CI Communication and Marketing.

Get involved on campus through clubs and organizations from Orientation 2018

By Jorge Garcia jorge.garcia234@myci.csuci.edu The CI community includes students with a great diversity of culture, intellectuality and physical ability. Therefore, the University offers the opportunity for...
A picture of the word "Loan" and a piggy bank on a chalkboard. Photo credit to GotCredit.

Tips on paying for college from Orientation 2018

By Travis Hunt travis.hunt875@csuci.edu Higher education can be outrageously expensive. Financing the college journey can be tricky, but successfully managing your debt properly at the beginning...
A comic illustrating a professor telling her students to read the syllabus. In their advice to freshmen, seniors said to read the syllabus. Photo credit to JadrianW.

Graduating students leave behind words of wisdom from Orientation 2018

By Ivey Mellem and Travis Hunt ivey.mellem194@csuci.edu and travis.hunt875@csuci.edu Your first year of college can be difficult, especially if you don’t know what to expect. Whether...
css.php